A Single Stone

Author(s): Meg McKinlay

PICTURE BOOKS

In an isolated society, one girl makes a discovery that will change everything -- and learns that a single stone, once set in motion, can bring down a mountain.

Jena -- strong, respected, reliable -- is the leader of the line, a job every girl in the village dreams of. Watched over by the Mothers as one of the chosen seven, Jena's years spent denying herself food and wrapping her limbs have paid off. She is small enough to squeeze through the tunnels of the mountain and gather the harvest, risking her life with each mission. No work is more important. This has always been the way of things, even if it isn't easy. But as her suspicions mount and Jena begins to question the life she's always known, the cracks in her world become impossible to ignore. Thought-provoking and quietly complex, Meg McKinlay's novel unfolds into a harshly beautiful tale of belief, survival, and resilience stronger than stone.


Product Information


  • Meg's previous novel, Surface Tension, won the Best Young Fiction category of the 2012 Davitt Awards. Meg has been short-listed for the CBCA awards on three occasions.

  • Perfect for fans of Emily Rodda, Tamora Pierce, Isobelle Carmody and Carole Wilkinson.

  • Middle grade fiction with dystopian elements. Beautifully written and thought-provoking, it deals with themes of conformity, belief systems, manipulation and what happens when belief systems are challenged. A novel that stays with you.

‘… an engaging, beautifully written novel that manages to pose big questions about gender and power, and thoroughly entertain. This is a quietly powerful, polished story for readers aged eight and above.’
– Frances Atkinson, Books+Publishing

‘A Single Stone is a beautiful and delicate novel that tackles some big questions about gender and power in an interesting manner, entertaining the reader. With body image, women’s roles in society, and government corruption all part of this powerful novel hopefully this book gets young adults talking about these important issues.’
– Katherine Dretzke, Readings

‘This beautifully written, haunting novel warns of the consequences of blind following, and shows the important difference between appearance and truth. This is award-winning McKinlay’s best yet.’
– writingWA

A beautifully written, quiet adventure that takes you spelunking into questions of gender and power.’
– Michael Earp, Goodreads

Meg McKinlay grew up in Bendigo, Victoria, in a book-loving, TV- and car-free household. On the long and winding path to becoming a children's writer, she has worked a variety of jobs including swim instructor, tour guide, translator and teacher. These days, she lives with her family near the ocean in Fremantle and is an Honorary Research Associate at the University of Western Australia, where she has taught Australian Literature, Japanese, and Creative Writing. Meg divides her time between teaching and writing, a balance that swings wildly between chaos and calm. She is always busy cooking up more books and you can visit her on the web at www.megmckinlay.com

General Fields

  • : 9781925081701
  • : Walker Books Australia Pty, Limited
  • : Walker Books Australia
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ages 10 +