The Republic Of Birds

Author: Jessica Miller
Homepage 9781922268044

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $16.99(AUD)
  • : 9781922268044
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : March 2018
  • : 16.99
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jessica Miller
  • :
  • : Paperback
  • :
  • : 823.4
  • :
  • : 288
  • :
Barcode 9781922268044
9781922268044

Description

Olga loves the stories of the old cartographers and pores over their ancient books and maps, trying to unlock their secrets. Sometimes, she thinks she can even feel through the maps- almost see into them-as if by magic. But magic is banned in Tsaretsvo, ever since the war with the birds that divided the kingdom, and the powerful magic-wielding Iagas have long been banished. Now, any young girl who shows signs of being an Iaga is whisked away to Bleak Steppe-to a life, so the story goes, of unspeakable punishment. When the bird army kidnaps Olga's sister in a surprise attack on the human kingdom, Olga realises she has to venture into the Republic of Birds to bring her back. But first, she must learn to unlock her magical ability. As her journey takes her into the hidden world of the Iagas and the wilds of the Unmappable Blank, Olga discovers the truth about the war with the birds-and learns just how much is at stake. Inspired by Russian folklore, The Republic of Birds is a rich middle-grade fantasy adventure for readers of Karen Foxlee, Jessica Townsend and Philip Pullman.  

Awards

   

Author description

Jessica Miller is a children's writer and PhD student from Brisbane, currently living in Germany. She has written for a variety of publications including Kill Your Darlings and Stilts. Her first novel, Elizabeth and Zenobia, was shortlisted for the Readings Prize and was a CBCA Notable Book.